Spring 2016 Section Report

AAPT Section Report 2016

Brian A Pyper, Section Representative


The Idaho-Utah Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers met April 15-16 at Idaho State University in Pocatello, hosted by local organizer and Section vice president Steve Shropshire. The meeting combined with an SPS Zone 15 meeting as well. About 70 people were in attendance for the meeting, which featured a banquet dinner, several guest speakers, and the perennially popular demo show (http://www.physics.isu.edu/events/conference/AAPTDemoSchedule.shtml) and make and take.

The program was excellent, with a varied collection of contributed talks and posters. The full program of events is available at http://www.physics.isu.edu/events/conference/schedule.shtml.

The business meeting Saturday re-elected Adam Beehler from the University of Utah as the section treasurer, and tentatively elected Matt Zachreson of BYUI to serve as president elect, and host the meeting in Rexburg in 2018 on the condition that Boise State, whose turn it should be, can’t do it, and that his one-year appointment at BYUI is renewed.

So the Current slate of officers for the section is as follows:

Matt Zachreson (BYUI) – President Elect (rotates to Vice President in 2017)

Adam Beehler (UofU) – Vice President and Treasurer (2017)

Steve Shropshire (ISU) – President (2017)

Larry Smith (Snow) – Past President (2017)

Brian Pyper (BYUI) – Section Representative (term expires in 2018)


A sincere thanks to Steve Shropshire and the department at ISU for hosting the section so well. Keep abreast of the section doings and plans for the Spring 2017 section meeting at the University of Utah on the section’s web page at idahoutah.aaptsections.org.

2016 Section Meeting participants
2016 Section Meeting participants